The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

My Literary Hero: Maria V. Snyder

Leave a comment

Maria V. Snyder is a New York Times best-selling author of fiction. This former meteorologist has been a favorite author of mine for quite some time. Since I’ve been reading some of her books lately, it only seemed fitting to share one of my top favorite authors.

The first book I read of Snyder’s was Poison Study, centering on Yelena who becomes the food taster to the Commander of Ixia. She learns how to detect various poisons by Valek, the Commander’s right-hand man, assassin and advisor. The unique story line drew me into the story, maintaining a tight grip on me, stoking the fires of my imagination. Yelena strength and character are admirable. Poison Study was such a cool world with amazing characters that I knew without a doubt that I had found my new favorite series and possibly new favorite author.

“This is one of those rare books that will keep readers dreaming long after they’ve read it.” – Publishers Weekly on Poison Study, starred review

Once I’d finished that book, I wanted to explore more of the world of Ixia and Sitia so began reading the next book in the Study series, Magic Study and finally the last book, Fire Study, in this used to be trilogy. By then, I was hooked and wanted to read more of her works, such as her Glass series (Storm Glass, Sea Glass and Spy Glass) and her Healer series (Touch of PowerScent of Magic and Taste of Darkness), which I’m currently finishing up. I was highly fascinated by each one I could get my hands on. Out of all of them, Fire Study has to be my favorite book to date. I haven’t read her YA series (Inside Out and Outside In) yet but they are on my TBR list.

I liked how Snyder created two totally different countries beside each other: Ixia, made up of military controlled districts where magic and magicians are highly forbidden, and Sitia, where normal humans and magicians co-exist in a country divided into clans. I’m so happy she continued on with the Study series and now readers get to explore these two distinct worlds even more.

“Filled with Snyder’s trademark sarcastic humor, fast-paced action and creepy villainy, Touch of Power is a spellbinding romantic adventure that will leave readers salivating for the next book in the series.” – USA TODAY

Snyder puts a lot of work into her novels into making them believable and it shows. All her book series are one arduous adventure after another. The book covers are always gorgeous and very complimentary to their respective stories.

If you love magic and fantasy, I would definitely recommend any of her books to add to your TBR list.

Visit Snyder’s official website to learn more about her and her awesome novels.

Leave a Reply

