The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

June Happenings!

2 Comments

June Happenings_image

Happy first day of June everyone!

This year has gone by so fast that it’s a little hard to believe it’s already June. With summer fast approaching it’s time to really buckle down and get to busy. I have a lot I want to accomplish before then. It’s going to be a very busy summer with less time to focus other things. Therefore, it is time to get organized and re-prioritize.

1. Reading

This month I’d like to focus on getting through more of the books sitting on my shelf. I want to make it my top priority this month so I can do another book haul for the summer. I’ve also been behind on the book I’m currently reading, Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch. Where my books are concern it’s going to be a catch-up month.

2. Novel In Progress

I’ve decided to put the writing portion of my novel on hold and go back to the planning stage. I’ve been thinking a lot about it and it’s made me question where I want to go with this piece and what I want the end result to be. I figured that by going back to the planning stage I’ll have a new and better perspective on it. So for this month I’ll be outlining my novel from the plot to characters to the setting to world-building and so on.

3. The Blog

The blog will steadily continue as normal with me posting as much as possible. But I’m also thinking about other blog post ideas I’d like to try. The new content I’m thinking I hope will provide something different than you normal see on blogs and be more engaging to you. For example, I’m going to continue to do update posts on the first of every month but along with those posts I’m going to add a book I’d like to recommend to you all for the month.

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely, book 1)

The purpose of this is to exchange books (for lack of better words). I want to provide you with more books I’d recommend other than just from my book reviews and also hear from you what books you think I may like to read. I tend to read books that are (urban)/fantasy, paranormal/(romance), and YA.

This month I am recommend Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. It’s about a girl named Aislinn who has the Sight, which enables her to see faeries. She lives by three simple rules to keep herself safe and off their radar. Unfortunately, she has caught the interest of one particular faerie, Keenan, the Summer King, who has spent centuries looking for his queen. It’s one of my favorite books. You can read more about this amazing young-adult novel here.

Let me know in the comments what book you think I should add to my TBR list.

As always, happy reading and happy writing!

2 thoughts on “June Happenings!

  1. Happy June to you too! And congratulations on your novel in progress 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

