The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

July Happenings!

Leave a comment

July Happenings

Happy July everyone!

The sun is shinning high in the sky and the weather is warm and lovely like a soft blanket fresh from the dryer. Summer is now in full swing and things are progressing quiet well. Now that it’s July it’s time to sit down and really get to work on getting through my summer reading list, writing my novel, writing blog posts and enjoying the summer. I have a good feeling about this month. I feel I’ll be able to make a lot of progress towards my short term and long term goals while at the same time enjoying the summer months.

1. Reading

So far I’ve only finished one book on my summer reading list, The Tournament at Gorlan by John Flanagan. It was a great read that left me excited for the book two, The Battle of Hackham Heath, which will be released November 29, 2016. You can read my review of the first book here. I am currently reading The Outcasts, also by John Flanagan. My goal for July is to get through at least half of the rest of the books on my summer reading list.

2. Novel In Progress

Things are progressing at a steady pace with the novel I’m writing. I have an established concept of my story to work off of, which covers at least half the story. I recently wrote a three page synopsis that lays out the basics of the plot for the first half of the story and the finer details to be discovered later in the second half. There is still a lot of planning to do and certain things to flesh out. After I wrote the synopsis, I discovered that I would have to start my story all over again because most of what I’ve already written doesn’t work anymore. Starting over is hard but I know it’s a necessary part of the writing process. I’m really excited about the new ideas I’ve come up with and the general framework of the story. I can’t wait to see this novel take shape.

3. The Blog

Not much will change with the blog. I will continue to update as much as I can. As I’ve said before, this summer is very busy for me so I’ll do my best to keep to a regular blogging schedule.

Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

Queen of the Shadows by Dianne Sylvan (Shadow World, book 1) | Publisher: Ace

4. Book Recommendation of the Month

This month I am recommending Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan, book 1 of the Shadow World series. I absolutely love this series, it’s one of my favorites. I love the story concept, the characters, and the love between the two main characters, Miranda Grey, a supremely talented musician/singer, and David Solomon, the vampire Prime of the South. New York Times bestselling author, Angela Knight, says “Dianne Sylvan has created an original take on vampires that I thoroughly enjoyed, and I’ll be looking for her next book with great anticipation. She’s a skilled and talented storyteller who definitely knows how to deliver one hell of a book!” This sensational urban fantasy tale is sure to be a hit with readers.

Let me know in the comments what book you think I should add to my TBR list.

Wishing you all a wonderful summer! Happy reading and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

