The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Mini Milestone: My 50th Post! + Throwback Thursday

Leave a comment

number 50

This is my 50th post on this blog and I’m happy I’ve reached this point in my blogging career. I know 50 isn’t much but this post is about celebrating the little things in life.

When I started this blog, I was a bit hesitant. I wasn’t sure what I was going to talk about or if people were going to like what I shared. I kept comparing myself to others and wondering if I can achieve the kind of success that they have.

Then I stopped and contemplated the situation further. I came to realize that I was limiting myself by comparing my as-yet-to-be-written blog with other bloggers. Every blogger has their own distinct voice which makes them stand out in some way. A writer has to find his or her own unique voice in order to distinguish themselves.

I could write about anything I wanted. I could be as creative as I pleased.

So with a firm resolve and blog post ideas in hand, I published my first post, welcoming anyone out there in the WordPress world to my blog, The Bookshelf Corner. The following day I talked about one of my literary heroes, Tamora Pierce, whose books are the reason I became an avid reader and first fueled my dream of becoming a writer.

With each post I became more confident in myself and in my writing. Blogging for myself was a new thing for me, one that I came to enjoy. I love blogging, I love being able to interact with people on this new level, I love sharing the things I enjoy most in life, and I love reading other blogs by people who share similar passions as mine: books, reading and writing.

Therefore, I’d like to say thank you to those who have read my blog, thank you to those who have followed my blog, and thank you to the bloggers I follow who inspire me to keep on blogging.

As always, happy reading and happy writing!

Sincerely,

Christina

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Because it is Thursday I thought it be fun idea to do a Throwback Thursday of the top 5 books from my early days as a reader that leave me feeling utterly nostalgic. (Click on the links below to learn more about these titles and read a summary on Goodreads.)

The Green and the Gray by Timothy Zahn

Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce (Song of the Lioness, book 1)

The Faerie Path by Frewin Jones (Faerie Path, book 1)

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale (The Books of Bayern, book 1)

Mister Monday by Garth Nix (The Keys to the Kingdom, book 1)

These are great books/series for young adult readers to explore. They bring back fond memories of childhood and imaginative, fantastical worlds. I adore these books. Thinking about them gives me happy feelings and sighs of content. I would re-read them if I had the time. They’re worth revisiting.

What book(s) make you feel nostalgic? Let me know in the comments your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

