The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Novel In-Progress (Update)

Leave a comment

Free Image from Pixabay

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

This past weekend I spent my time relaxing while trying to finish up researching for my novel, working out details to give the story a sense of realism. I think I’ve covered most of those details enough that I could continue working on the plot some more.

One of the things that made me go back to the pre-planning stage was a lack of conflict. Conflict is a necessary component of any story as it drives the plot forward and brings life to the story.

So over the weekend I spent time working out the central conflict of my novel. Before, I only had half the conflict worked out. Now, I have a better understanding of the story and the direction I want to take it moving forward. There is more my protagonist has to overcome and more at stake for everyone involved.

I really enjoyed developing the central conflicts. I mapped out more than I had originally planned. The story has stretched so far that I think it will end up as a trilogy, which I’m really excited about. Mapping out the central conflicts has shown me, and hopefully future readers, that there is more to this story than meets the eye. I now have a general sense of what this story can become.

Therefore, I’m ready to get back to writing, starting with rewriting the beginning. I don’t think I’ll completely get rid of what I had before but move it to after this new beginning I’m going to write. Based on what I’ve already written and the synopsis I wrote, the story will make much more sense this way.

I don’t have a full outline because I wanted to let the characters fill in the gaps as they take me on this journey.

I’m eager to get writing. This project really means a lot to me and I hope it turns out better than I ever could have imagined.

Leave a Reply

