The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

August Happenings!

3 Comments

August Happenings

Happy first day of August, everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

I can’t believe it’s August already. The summer has been flying by faster than I could have anticipated. There are so many things I need to do before the end of this month. I need to make the most of this month because come September I may not have as much time for certain things. So here’s what’s happening in August:

Summer Reading

I’m a little behind with my summer reading. I’ve only read 3 out of 9 books on my list so far; I’m still reading River of Dreams by Lynn Kurland. My goal is to finish that book by the end of this week so I can get started on the next and the ninth book of this series, Dreamer’s Daughter. I really want to get through the entirety of my summer reading list so I can do another book haul.

Novel In-Progress

There’s not much to add concerning this topic. I picture this story spanning three books instead of just one, which I’m really excited about. I’m ready to get back to writing the story, starting at the beginning. While I don’t have a full outline of the story, I have a better understanding of it will progress, what will and could happen. I posted an update about it last week, which you can read in full here.

The Blog

I will continue to update as much as possible but my reading and novel are at the top of my to-do list this month. Hopefully I can keep up a regular posting schedule.

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima (The Heir Chronicles, book 1)

Book Recommendation of the Month

This month I am recommending The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima. If I remember correctly, I first discovered this book in school as a part of the required summer reading. I absolutely love this book. There are currently five books in this series (The Heir Chronicles) but I’ve only read the first three. The other two I’ve tacked onto my never-ending TBR list. The Warrior Heir is a thrilling read that I think fans of YA fantasy will surely enjoy as well.

Do you know of a book you think I might like to read? Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “August Happenings!

  1. Hey! I really enjoy reading your blog so I nominated you for the MakeItUltra™ Blogger Award. You can choose to accept and if not you can always decline which is okay too! For more information go to this link: https://lifesfinewhine.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/makeitultra-blogger-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

