The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Back at Blogging!

Leave a comment

Hello, everyone! I hope you all have been doing well.

I took a few months hiatus off of blogging to focus on my personal education in writing. It’s so good to have the time again to continue blogging, something I enjoy doing. Nevertheless, I don’t regret the practical experience I gained in the meantime.

Besides building new skills, I’ve been thinking some about the things I wanted to write about once I returned to blogging. What books I really wanted to get through so I can share them with you all. Maybe write short pieces of fiction like a brief scene or a short story series. And other ideas I’m trying to work out in my head. The important thing I want to continue to do and improve on this blog’s goals: to share, engage, converse on all things wonderful about books and writing.

sorcerer-to-the-crown-by-zen-cho

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

I’m still reading River of Dreams by Lynn Kurland, but I hope to have it finished and a book review up sometime next week. I did read other things over the past few months. I read a book that was completely different in plot and language from what I normally read called Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho. It’s her debut novel (published September 1, 2015 by Ace Books) and the first of a series to come. It was intriguing at the start, a little hard to get into early on as I kept reading, but well worth the read by the end. I’ll have a review about my full experience with the book in the coming days.

I also read manga for the first time and the series I read, Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori, was so much fun, couldn’t put it down. I had only watched the anime (several times) beforehand, decided to give graphic novels in general a shot, and did not regret it. You can read a summary of Volume 1 on Goodreads here. My review will be posted tomorrow.

A fan of musical theater, I watched the long-anticipated Hairspray Live!, which was star-studded and wonderful. I’ve seen the 2007 version and been in a theater production of it myself. I adore the 2007 soundtrack, so I had a bit high expectations for NBC’s live performance.

Also watched with much excitement Batman: The Telltale Series and season 3 of The Walking Dead (also by Telltale) video games via one of my favorite YouTuber’s channel, Jacksepticeye. The latter game I’ve been waiting a few years to come out and it’s really good so far (only episodes 1 and 2 are available). Batman was surprisingly good, too (I’m not much of a Batman fan). For me, it was very surprising throughout and kept me deeply invested the entire time. What I like about these two – and something I think Telltale does well – is the artistry, characterization, story, play-ability, and overall user experience.

hamilton-sountrack-album-cover

Hamilton: An American Musical by Lin-Manuel Miranda

And, of course, I have been addicted to listening to the Hamilton soundtrack and singing it aloud, especially in the car. I love this soundtrack so much that I’m more than content to wait a long time to be able to see the show live. I have so many favorite songs that I listen to on repeat but I think my top favorite songs are: “Alexander Hamilton,” “The Story of Tonight,” “The Schuyler Sisters,” “You’ll Be Back,” “Satisfied,” “Wait for It,” “Yorktown (The World Turned Upside Down),” “Non-Stop,” “It’s Quiet Uptown,” and “Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story.” The more I listen to this soundtrack, the more I get the urge to write. I think it’s because it’s so put-together and the songs are so well composed that I want to write something just as amazing as what Lin-Manuel Miranda has done. I saw the PBS documentary of Hamilton which was good and am considering reading the biography written by Ron Chernow that inspired the musical.

(currently listening to Hamilton as I write this post, he he)

So those are my tentative plans for the blog and what I’ve been up to since my last post. All these incredible stories I’ve watched and listened to have giving me lots of inspiration for my writing. I’m really looking forward to writing more often and in this space, and to what the new year will bring.

Leave a Reply

