The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Book Review: Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori (Volumes 1-18)

Leave a comment

Genre: Manga / Graphic Novel
Series: Ouran High School Host Club
Rating: 5/5
Recommend to Others?: Yes

My Summary:
Haruhi Fujioka is an apathetic, tom-boyish teenage girl who lands a scholarship to start her high school years at the prestigious Ouran Academy. She distances herself from the other students of whom she couldn’t possibly relate to. Instead, aiming to focus on reaching her goals. That is until one day she accidentally breaks a vase, catching the eye of the ever popular, wealthy and handsome young men of the Host Club. Faced with an $80,000 debt, Haruhi is “persuaded” to work for the Host Club to pay it back while disguised as a boy. And so, a series of comedic incidents and adventures ensue.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*this review is my opinion of all 18 volumes as a whole

My Review:
I absolutely loved this series and felt all the feels. It was fantastic and funny to read.

I actually watched the anime of this first (and several times afterwards) before reading the manga. From the characters to the opening and closing music, it was enjoyable to watch. The show is silly and weird but romantic, lovable and funny all at the same time.

I’d actually never read manga or graphic novels before this one because I didn’t think I was going to like reading them. Also, there was just a never-ending list of books I really wanted to read that I just never gave them another thought. But when I found out my local library had the complete set of this series, I knew I had to try and read them. I was not disappointed.

The manga goes more in-depth and continues the story-line, allowing the characters to further evolve to be more dynamic and interesting than from the confines of anime. It took a few episodes to get used to this format of Japanese comics (reading right to left) properly but once I did the books were real page-turners that was hard to put down.

Each main character was different and likable in their own way. Their personal growths were heartwarming and the shenanigans they would get into were amusing. What I admired most about this cast of characters were their strong bonds of friendship.

Ouran High School Host Club is one of my favorite anime and I’m happy this story was the first manga I read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*publishing details based off Volume 1

STORY & ART BY: BISCO HATORI
First Published: August 5, 2003 by Hakusensha, Inc.’s LaLa Magazine
English Release Date: July 5, 2005 by VIZ Media, LLC (Shojo Beat Manga)

Leave a Reply

