The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

January Happenings

Leave a comment

january-happenings

We’re now a few days into the new year. The holidays and festivities are over and it’s time to get back to work full-time. I have some things planned for this month but not enough to get overwhelmed so early in the year. I have a few goals I am determined to accomplish in 2017 and a few things I want to see become actualized. If not now, then when? No hesitating. No looking back. Onward and forward.

Here’s what I’ll be up to this month:

The TBR List

I don’t have an official list for 2017 but I know some of the books I want to read – yesterday I wrote a post about these particular titles. While there’s no set number for this month, I do plan on reading at least Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch, The Battle of Hackham Heath by John Flanagan, and Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley.

Novel-In-Progress

A good portion of this month will be spent making more headway in writing this novel that I unfortunately wasn’t able to work on during my hiatus. I haven’t lost my excitement for what it could become, so I feel ready to get back at it and finish writing it later this year.

The Blog

As stated last week, I’m in the process of creating new content and updates for the blog. So far I’ve changed the background color of the blog to fill up the dead space of it. I’ve added a tab for miscellaneous content. And I’ve also wrote out in full a review policy which will be up by the end of this week. This policy basically states how book reviews work on this blog and guidelines for author/publisher requests, the latter I hope to start taking in a few months. Social media accounts for this blog will be set up so we can connect on other platforms – I’m considering Goodreads, Twitter, Pinterest, and Tumblr. Later this month, I’ll be celebrating this blog’s one year anniversary – where has the time gone!? I’m really excited for that and want to do something special – plans are in the works.

the-green-and-the-gray-by-timothy-zahn

The Green and the Gray by Timothy Zahn | Image via Goodreads

Book Recommendation of the Month

This month I want to recommend to you The Green and the Gray by Timothy Zahn (Tor Books, 2004). This is one of few science fiction novels I’ve ever read, all by the same author. Sci-fi normally isn’t my cup of tea, but Zahn crafted worlds, plots, and characters that made me think differently. The parts I loved most about this book were the interactions between characters. Even though I read this years ago, it’s still one of my favorite books.

Anyways, that’s all for now. I hope everyone has a good, productive start to 2017.

And, as always, happy reading and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

