The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Blogiversary: Bookshelf Spotlights From Year 1

Leave a comment

Free Image from PixabayThroughout the year I did a series of posts called “Bookshelf Spotlight” in which I talked about books a particular series or group of books that I physically own and read, and have a high level of appreciation for. The sole purpose of these posts is to share books with others who may find something new to read and to highlight books I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading.

The first Spotlight was about the Once Upon A Time book series, which are published by Simon Pulse. It’s a series of retellings of classic fairy tales we all know and love, including “The Arabian Nights,” “The Little Mermaid,” “The Snow Queen,” “The Ballad of Mulan,” and “The Princess and the Pea.” These are categorized under Teen Fiction, which is when I read most of them, but I think people who are older may enjoy these charming tales as well.

Next I talked about the Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan (publisher: Philomel Books). This is one of my all-time favorite series by one of my literary heroes. It’s about a young orphaned boy named Will who wants to be a knight but is denied and instead is enlisted to be an apprentice Ranger to one of the most renowned of the Ranger Corps, Halt. It’s a thrilling adventure from start to finish with wonderful characters and riveting plot. I highly recommend this series.

Then I listed my Top 10 Favorite Books of all time, which was easy but hard to do at the same time. I love all these books so much and they will always hold a special place in my heart.

And, of course, I had to share my Top 12 Favorite Book Series. I’ve read so many but these 12 stand out above all the rest. I recommend all of them. They are a mix of YA, fantasy, urban fantasy, paranormal/historical romance, juvenile fiction and science fiction.

Finally, I did something a little different and talked about the 5 book covers I found to be the most gorgeous (in my opinion). They’re so beautiful I can’t help but smile and sigh happily.

I hope to continue doing more Bookshelf Spotlights throughout 2017. It’s fun to give this sort of recognition to books that mean a lot to me.

Happy reading, everyone!

Leave a Reply

