The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

February Happenings!

Leave a comment

february-happenings

Happy February, everyone! Last month wasn’t as productive as I had planned. I dd my best to work on on-going projects but some plans fell through. But February is a new month and I’m already getting back into the swing of things in this new year. I have several deadlines to meet over the next two weeks or so. It’ll be busy time but I should be posting more content and getting things done both for this blog and outside work. I’m looking forward to this month regardless.

Here’s what February for me looks like:

The TBR List

I read 30 picture books over the past few weeks, which was fun to do as I haven’t read any since I was very little. I’m currently learning about children’s books and how to write them – which I have no experience in. It’s very interesting and fun so far. Unfortunately, I did not get through any of the books on my TBR list I was supposed to read last month. So they have been moved to this month. Currently, I’m reading The Battle of Hackham Heath by John Flanagan – that will be finished some time tomorrow with a review posted either that same day or Saturday. I am still reading River of Dreams by Lynn Kurland, but I’ve decided to put it on hold. I probably won’t get back to it until later this month or next month. I’ll be reading at least 6 or 7 novels this month plus (I think) more picture books – only novels from my TBR list will be counted towards my Goodreads 2017 reading goal.

Novel In-Progress & Other Writing

I did not have a chance to work on my novel – sadness – but hopefully this month I’ll have time. I’m not giving up on this project. Earlier this week I wrote my first picture book, which was challenging but enjoyable. It paid homage to one of my hobbies and one of my closets friends. I’ll be writing another picture book over  few days as soon as I come up with an idea.. I’m not sure if I’ll make illustrations for either – I’m only a decent drawer – but at the very least I’ll have written concepts for them. As for any additional writing, I don’t know how much I’ll be able to post this month but I want to post a little.

The Blog

All last week I celebrated my first blogiversary, which was very exciting and I hope you all enjoyed. There’ll be plenty of new posts this month to look forward to, including several book reviews. It’s going to be a busy month but I will update the blog as often as possible.

Publisher: Ace Books (2011) | Image via Goodreads

The Shadow Reader by Sandy Williams (Shadow Reader, book 1) | Publisher: Ace Books (2011) | Image via Goodreads

Book Recommendation of the Month

This month I am recommending The Shadow Reader by Sandy Williams (Ace Books). A few years ago when I was looking for something new and compelling to read, I stumbled across this urban fantasy book that was to be the first of a trilogy. It was the perfect action/adventure/fantasy to read and new addition to my bookshelf. Two things that caught my attention before I read it were that the series involves the fae and that the main heroine, McKenzie Lewis, had the ability to read their shadows. National bestselling author, Seanan McGuire (October Daye novels), remarked about the book: “The Shadow Reader is a fresh take on the fae,, packed with suspense, surprises, and real moral dilemmas. Sexy and fun, this is a must for anyone who likes their fae modern, their stakes high, and their property damage extensive.” As a whole, I’d give the series a 4 out of 5.

That’s all for now. Happy reading and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

