The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Writing Playlist

3 Comments

music-278795_1920

Music is a great source of inspiration for writing. It can help find the right emotions to illustrate what you’re trying to write about. For me, there are just certain songs that really get my creative juices flowing. Every time I hear these songs I am either jamming out to them and/or a scene plays out in my head as if I’m watching a movie made from my imagination.

Normally when I write I need it to be quiet with no distractions. I wish I could listen to music while writing but it would be slow going and I would lose concentration easily especially if a great song came on.

But these are the songs that would be on my writing playlist (in no particular order):

“Hold Your Dream” – Fame (2009 movie)

“Go The Distance” – Hercules (Michael Bolton version)

“A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri

“Fix You” by Coldplay (Glee cover)

“Keep Holding On” by Avril Lavine (also Glee cover)

“Our Farewell” by Within Temptations

“One Day More” – Les Miserables

“Simple and Clean” by Utada Hikaru (Kingdom Hearts video games)

“History Maker” by Dean Fujioka

“Behind These Hazel Eyes” by Kelly Clarkson

“Hold On” by Extreme Music

“Defying Gravity” – Wicked (Original Broadway Cast version)

“Dancing Queen” by ABBA (Mamma Mia! 2008 movie version)

“Roots Before Branches” by RoomForTwo (Glee cover)

“Let Me Be Your Star” – Smash (TV series)

“Find Your Grail” – Spamalot (Original Broadway Cast version)

“Son of Man” – Tarzan (Disney movie or Broadway versions)

“Two Worlds” – Tarzan (Broadway version)

“It’s Quiet Uptown” – Hamilton: An American Musical

“History Has It’s Eyes On You” – Hamilton: An American Musical

“The Climb” by Miley Cyrus

“Million Reasons” by Lady Gaga

“Mirrors” by Justin Timberlake

“My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up)” by Fall Out Boy

“Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons (also Pentatonix/Lindsay Sterling cover)

“Hero” by Pegboard Nerds

These are the songs I could think of off the top of my head that would be on my playlist (there’s more but didn’t want this list to be too long). It’s kind of a random group of songs but they do make me feel creative and pumped to write something.

What songs inspire your writing? Do you listen to music when you write? Let me know in the comment section below.

Happy Writing!

3 thoughts on “Writing Playlist

  1. Pingback: Writing Playlist #6: Disney Edition (part one) | The Bookshelf Corner

  2. Pingback: Writing Playlist #7: Disney Edition (part two) | The Bookshelf Corner

  3. Pingback: Writing Playlist #8: On Repeat Edition | The Bookshelf Corner

Leave a Reply

