The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Double Book Review: ‘Darth Vader and Son’ & ‘Vader’s Little Princess’ by Jeffrey Brown

Leave a comment

Genre: Graphic Novel
Series: Star Wars: Darth Vader and Kids
Rating: 5/5
Recommend to Others?: Yes

Publisher: Chronicle Books

I will admit…I have never seen Star Wars. I know, how could I?! Well, I just have never been interested. I know some things about it, have seen spoofs of it on Family Guy, and know the main characters, but that’s about the extent of my knowledge. However, I have an appreciation for the franchise and its impact on cinema.

That being said, I have always wanted to read these two books. Lucky for me, my library had both. They were very quick reads and incredibly cute. There’s no real storyline to it, mainly seeing small incidents that occur between Darth Vader and Luke and Princess Leia (respectively). The illustrations are beautiful and amusing. I really liked reading them. Darth Vader and Son and Vader’s Little Princess make Darth Vader an endearing character. Any time he spoke, I imagined James Earl Jones’ voice saying the lines (such a great actor). This series seems geared more towards children as its audience but I think any Star Wars fan will enjoy these books.

 

Read more about Darth Vader and Son (2012)

Read more about Vader’s Little Princess (2013)

Read more about Darth Vader and Friends (2015)

 

If you’re a Star Wars fan, which of the movies are your absolute favorites? Have any of you read these graphic novels? I’d like to know your thoughts.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

