The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

March Happenings!

Leave a comment

Happy March, everyone! We are now in the third month of 2017 and things are getting busier and busier with each passing day. Last month was pretty productive for me so I’m hoping that productivity continues this month.

march-happenings

The TBR List

I read about 9 books last month but only 2 from my TBR list. But I’m slowly working on keeping a steady reading schedule. I am almost finished reading Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs and will have a review up Friday. I hope to get through at least 5 more books from the list this month: Dawn Study by Maria V. Snyder, Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch, Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill, and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Novel In-Progress & Other Writings

I wrote two children’s picture books last month, which was really fun to do. I’m learning a lot about children’s literature and publishing. I started writing a middle grade novel, which I’ll be continuing to write throughout this month. The other novel is still a work-in-progress but I’ll have an update about it later this month. I also want to start writing a few short stories on the side to submit to contests.

The Blog

February was very productive. I wrote several different posts and made lots of new graphics for the blog. More often than not I was able to get posts written in advance so that all I had to do when it was time to hit publish was go back through to edit.

The blog also underwent a change with a new header image and navigation bar, which, so far, I really like how it all looks with the rest of the site.

I’m going to try out a few new pieces of content. I’m not sure how well these will come out but I’m excited for them regardless. I have all of this months posts planned out so it’s going to be a fun month. Lots of book reviews will be posted as well.

2004 Edition published by Beacon Press | Image via Goodreads

2004 Edition published by Beacon Press | Image via Goodreads

Book Recommendation of the Month

I’m actually going to recommend a book that’s not on my shelf but one I read in school. Very rarely have I enjoyed books assigned in school but this one was a whole different story. This month I’m recommending Kindred by Octavia Butler (Published June 1, 1979 by Doubleday). It’s such an incredible work of science fiction and commentary on slavery in the United States. The book is about an African-American woman named Dana who is thrust back and forth through time – from 1976 to the early 1800s and back. Through several near-death experiences she comes to realize that the fate of her existence lies in the slaveholder’s son, Rufus Weylin. Kindred is a gripping and well-written tale. There are intense parts that are hard to read. I’d give this book a 5 out of 5.

 

Happy Reading! Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

