The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

April Happenings!

2 Comments

Happy April, everyone!

Last month was very productive for me and I got a lot of reading done. Decisions were made. Plans were devised. I found out a new book from two authors I like are going to be released later this year: Tortall: A Spy’s Guide by Tamora Pierce (October 31) and Loved (Book 1 of House of Night Otherworld) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast (July 11). I’m looking forward to reading those books at some point.

The Bookshelf Corner was also nominated again for the Mystery Blogger Award by Chandra @ Inky Traveler – thank you for the nomination! She posts about books, anime, and writing so be sure to check out her blog. You can also check out her answers to the award here.

Lots happened in March and even more cool things will be happening in the rest of 2017.

Here’s what’s going to be happening this busy month:

The TBR List

I read a total of 12 books in March, 5 from my TBR list. I am currently reading Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. The two books from the list I also plan to read this month are Zodiac by Romina Russell and Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – and if there’s time The Hunters by John Flanagan.

Novel & Other Writings

I started writing a fantasy middle grade novel this month with the first three chapters written but that’s being put on hold for now. Instead, for the next several months or so I will be focusing on two YA projects. One a YA fantasy and the other YA Fiction (the latter is the novel-in-progress I’ve mentioned in past posts). I’m really excited and terrified about both and can’t wait to see how each story progresses. My attention will primarily be on writing those but I’ll still be reading as much as I can in the meantime.

The Blog

About a month has past with the new header image for the blog and I really like it. I think I’ll be keeping it for a long while. I did some tweaking to the site over the course of March: the Review Policy was updated a little, the Book Reviews page has a new way to view the books I’ve reviewed by author last name, and updated the About Me page.

As of now, no new things will be happening with the blog. Posts will mostly be on weekdays with weekends being my days off.

Image via Goodreads

Book Recommendation of the Month

This month I want to recommend one of my favorite books (and one of my favorite standalone books) A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson. It’s such a cute, funny, and whimsical tale with very likable characters. It takes place post-Russian Revolution and follows Anna who becomes a servant in an Earl’s household to help her now penniless family, unbeknownst to her employer and fellow employees of her aristocratic background. You can read a full Goodreads summary here. Anna is so kind, determined, graceful, and charming; a wonderful protagonist you’ll be happy to get to know.

 

 

Have a great weekend! And, as always, happy reading and happy writing!

2 thoughts on “April Happenings!

  1. Thanks for the shout out. 🙂 I love Tamora Pierce and am looking forward to her new book as well! I hope your writing projects go well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

