The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Leave a comment

Image via Goodreads

Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Rating: 3/5
Recommend to Others?: No

 

My Summary:
After a mysterious accident on her family’s private island that left her with debilitating headaches and memory loss, Cadence Sinclair Eastman tries to uncover the truth among all the lies about what had happened that summer – what exactly are her family and friends trying to hide from her?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Review:
I honestly didn’t get the point of this novel until towards the end. If I were reading this on my own, I would have struggled with whether to stop reading or not. The only thing that kept me reading with some small level of interest was my curiosity over what caused Cadence’s accident and why (though medically reasonable and proven) everyone is withhold the truth from her or lying.

It’s a good story in its own right – well-paced, great characterization, brilliantly structured, good suspense, interesting writing, though not an unheard of family dynamic – just not for me. Like I said before, I struggled with figuring out the point o this novel and why I, as the reader, should feel invested in what was happening. The reading experience felt detached.

Towards the end I was feeling all kinds of emotions – empathetic sadness and terror most notably. Such overwhelming feelings that finally had me immersed in the story.

The past and present got a little confusing towards the middle, seeming to blend erratically together – but I’m assuming that’s because Cadence was starting to piece the real story together. The line breaks at certain sentences I’m still confused about. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to take it as poetry or the way Cadence is thinking/feeling or both.

There’s a certain finesse to this novel that one could learn much about storytelling from.

Leave a Reply

