The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

May Happenings!

Leave a comment

It’s May! Hooray!

We are, surprisingly, almost halfway through 2017, which is crazy to think about. Where has this year gone!?

Last month wasn’t as productive as I’d planned. Work and health took priority over blogging and other things. But I’m feeling so much better now. And now that I’ve caught up on book reviews, I’m back on track with planned posts.

Here’s what’s up for this month:

The TBR List

In April, I read 9 books, 5 were from my TBR list. I am currently reading From This Moment On by Lynn Kurland, one of the first few books I read (and one of my top favorites) of hers many years ago. Reading this now was unplanned. The last book I read before it left me so thoroughly frustrated that I had to redo my TBR list for this month – I am undecided as of now whether I’m going to post a review on this blog. I was in desperate need for a change in scenery, for lack of better words. A romance novel by one of my favorite authors and literary heroes seemed the best thing to do.

The other books I’m going to try to get through in May are Black Moon by Romina Russell, The Hunters by John Flanagan, Ever My Love by Lynn Kurland, Poison Princess by Kresley Cole, and Linger by Maggie Stiefvater (unplanned; if there’s time).

On my Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge, I have 13 out of 30 books read – almost halfway there, which is awesome!

Novels In Progress

I’ve been working on YA Idea #1 – the one that’s been in the “in progress” stage since last year – a lot over the past few weeks. It got a little crazy at first because I had to add on/update the synopsis I’d written – it’s now 5 pages single space long. I know the who-what-when-where-why-hows for the first 10 chapters, a general sense of the middle, and I know how it ends. This novel will be book 1 of a trilogy – I know the general concept for the other two books. But I don’t know how the overall series will end yet.

The second crazy thing that happened was that I re-wrote the beginning of YA Idea #1. I feel like I came up with a stronger opening than what I previously had. Even better is that I won’t have to throw out the former beginning because most of what it contains fits well with the next few chapters I have planned. I just have to revise and add missing material to fit with the new information I have about this story.

Overall, it’s going really well and I may write at least two or three more chapters and edit them before taking a break to start YA Idea #2 for a month or so. The concept for YA Idea #2 I’m still very much interested in writing but I need to write out a full-ish synopsis before truly beginning. So that may be what I work on for the month of June before going back to the first idea.

The Blog

Nothing new going on with the blog. I have at least 11 days off planned to devote to rest, take care of personal business, and work on my novel. I hope you all will enjoy the posts I have planned for May.

Image via Goodreads

Book Recommendation of the Month

I’m recommending a former school-book this month. It’s called The Marrow of Tradition by Charles W. Chesnutt. First published in 1901, this historical fiction novel is based on the Wilmington Race Riot of 1898 that happened in Wilmington, North Carolina in the United States. I read this book as an assigned reading in an African-American Studies class. It was such a good book – so immersive and telling and well-written and powerfully moving. I’d give this book a 5/5 rating and then some.

 

I hope everyone has a great month of May! And, as always, happy reading and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

