The Bookshelf Corner

A creative space for all things books and writing….

Book Review: Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

Leave a comment

Image via Goodreads

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Series: The Arcana Chronicles, book 1
Rating: 4/5
Recommend to Others?: Yes

 

My Summary:
It’s a new school year. Evie Greene is back at school with her friends and boyfriend, and her sixteenth birthday is coming up. All is right with the world except for the new students from across the bridge – and especially the arrival of Jackson Deveaux. Evie hopes the terribly haunting visions that landed her in a mental institution are behind her and that she can finally move on with her life. But what she thought were visions was only the beginning. The Flash transforms the entire world into the apocalypse. Evie will struggle against surviving in this new environment while resisting a destiny she never wanted.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Review:
Goodness, this book was a lot to take in.

The beginning was so creepy and uncomfortable that I felt like skipping it. But I didn’t want to risk missing something that would later be pertinent to the story.

First off, I like that the story was told non-chronologically. This is not only well done but it compliments Evie’s struggles so well.

I liked Evie’s character and am glad that although she is typecasted she is still relatable/likeable in some ways. Her best friend Melissa is crazy funny. Her boyfriend, a good boy, is your typical jock and teenage boy. Other typically cliché-ish characters appear and cliché-ish things happen but you learn to deal with it. The rest of the school you don’t get much of a glimpse of other than rich.

Jackson I don’t think I’ve fully formed an opinion on. Like Evie, it’s hard to understand him enough to whether I can say I like his character or not. He’s definitely a good guy but I don’t know what to make of him. He’s kind of a mystery, which is ironic because he says how he himself doesn’t like leaving puzzles unsolved.

Which led to several frustrating interactions between him and Evie. They were so back and forth with each other – not okay and then okay and then not okay again with each other. I’m a little confused and unsatisfied by the state of their relationship at the book’s conclusion.

I though the treatment of mental health was done fine but sad – that fear of being judged and others not knowing how to “deal with you” so instead cast you off was sad.

The apocalypse itself was unnerving. I’ve seen plenty of post-apocalypse TV shows/movies and the way the author crafts this world is well done. I also do highly appreciate that the zombies (aka “Bagmen”) can’t run (it’s one of my zombie characteristic pet peeves).

I liked that the fantasy part of this book is based off of tarot cards. But I’m still confused about it – and maybe it’s because I don’t know a whole lot about it- in relation to the apocalypse. There’s so much to figure out and at times what you do learn is hard to understand in the grand scheme of things. And after reading the whole book I feel like there’s still a whole lot that’s been left unsaid – but I guess everything will be clarified in the coming books.

As of now, I don’t have plans to continue this series. Maybe in the future. I did like it in the end but I’m not sure if I’m interested enough to keep reading on – perhaps this just wasn’t the series for me but I would still recommend it to others if fantasy/post-apocalypse books are your cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

