Categories
Book Reviews

Book Review: Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream by Jenny Han, Pictures by Julia Kuo

Image via Goodreads

Genre: Children’s Fiction
Rating: 2 out of 5
Recommend to Others?: No
Favorite Quote: “Maybe the good and the bad balanced each other out. Maybe there was no such thing as good luck or bad luck days. Maybe every day had good and bad things, and that was just the way it went.”

Summary (via Goodreads):
Meet Clara Lee.

Likes: her best friends, her grandpa, her little sister (when she’s not being annoying, which is almost always), candy necklaces, and the Apple Blossom Festival.

Dislikes: her little sister (when she’s being annoying, which is almost always), her mom’s yucky fish soup, and bad dreams (even though Grandpa says they mean good luck).

After a bad dream, Clara Lee has a whole day of good luck. But when her luck changes, she upsets her friends and family. Will Clara Lee have good luck again in time to try out for the Little Miss Apple Pie pageant?

Clara Lee is a delightful character from acclaimed author Jenny Han. This charming, humorous chapter book is perfect for fans of Clementine and Judy Moody!

~~~~~~~~~~~

My Review:
I think the idea of the story is very charming and socially and culturally educational. But I had a hard time enjoying the story because the main character, Clara Lee, was so unlikable. She’s sometimes nice, sometimes unfriendly. She’s caring but selfish at the same time. I found it hard to root for her in her efforts to become Little Miss Apple Pie.

The writing was excellent – very detailed and relatable – especially for this young of a reading level. Julia Kuo’s illustrations were a lovely addition to the story – cute and expressive.

Although I didn’t enjoy the story, I would read more by Jenny Han because I think she is a talented writer and storyteller.

One reply on “Book Review: Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream by Jenny Han, Pictures by Julia Kuo”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s