Categories
#PubDayTuesday

#PubDayTuesday: Breath Like Water

Breath Like Water by Anne Jarzab

Thanks again to Inkyard Press and NetGalley for the e-ARC to read and review!

Image via NetGalley

ABOUT: This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally.

Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two important people enter her life: a new coach with a revolutionary training strategy, and a charming fellow swimmer named Harry Matthews.

As Susannah begins her long and painful climb back to the top, her friendship with Harry blossoms into passionate and supportive love. But Harry is facing challenges of his own, and even as their bond draws them closer together, other forces work to tear them apart. As she struggles to balance her needs with those of the people who matter most to her, Susannah will learn the cost–and the beauty–of trying to achieve something extraordinary.

My Reviewhttps://thebookshelfcorner.wordpress.com/2020/05/12/blog-tour-arc-review-breath-like-water-by-anna-jarzab/

 

Buy Links
*all buy links are non-affiliated links*

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Indie Bound
Google Play
Apple Books

CONNECT WITH ME | Goodreads | Instagram

Categories
ARCs Blog Tours Book Reviews

[BLOG TOUR] ARC Review: Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

CONTENT WARNING: This story does bring up self-harm, substance abuse, addiction, and suicide. Links to 24/7 crisis help will be listed at the end of this post.

[May 12, 2020 – May 26, 2020]

Thank you to Inkyard Press and NetGalley for the e-ARC to read and review! Breath Like Water goes on sale May 19, 2020.

Image via NetGalley

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance, Mental Health
Rating: 5 out of 5
Recommend to Others?: Yes

 

ABOUT: Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two important people enter her life: a new coach with a revolutionary training strategy, and a charming fellow swimmer named Harry Matthews.

As Susannah begins her long and painful climb back to the top, her friendship with Harry blossoms into passionate and supportive love. But Harry is facing challenges of his own, and even as their bond draws them closer together, other forces work to tear them apart. As she struggles to balance her needs with those of the people who matter most to her, Susannah will learn the cost—and the beauty—of trying to achieve something extraordinary.

 

My Review:
Breath Like Water is a must read page-turner that will take your breath away!

Mental health awareness and sports are a big part this incredibly deep story. In this case, we have a teenage elite swimmer who’s prime goal is to make it to the Olympics. You see how this demanding being an elite athlete affects Susannah in all its good, bad, and ugly glory. It serves as a reminder how important it is we take care of our mental health and be kind to one another.

I really like this book. It’s been fascinating having such an i depth look at the psychological affects of highly competitive sports on young kids who are constantly changing mentally, emotional, physically, and biologically. This book has been really eye-opening.

Susannah and Harry’s relationship is so lovely at its core. They really do bring out the best in each other, which is why it was so hard to watch them struggle internally and externally with themselves.

They’re so used to this one way of thinking that’s dominated how they live their lives that it causes an identity crisis. It’s rough going for these dynamic characters.

I’m not expert but I think the bipolar rep was done well and I loved how the author used it within the story. It really brought home how a mental illness affects a person’s day to day and how that person’s disorder affects familial relationships. It gives you the raw ugliness of it but how hope and change is more than possible.

This story does bring up self-harm, substance abuse, addiction, and suicide. If you or someone you know is having thoughts of harming themselves or suicide, please seek help. YOU ARE LOVED. There is always someone to reach out to. I’ll leave some links down below.

The ending was bittersweet but I’m happy for where all of the characters end up. Breath Like Water is a great story overall. I think it will help a lot of people who are struggling right now.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anna Jarzab is a Midwesterner turned New Yorker. She lives and works in New York City and is the author of such books as Red Dirt, All Unquiet Things, The Opposite of Hallelujah, and the Many-Worlds series. Visit her online at annajarzab.com and on Twitter, @ajarzab.

SOCIAL LINKS:
Instagram: @ajarzab
Twitter: @ajarzab
Author website: https://www.annajarzab.com/


READ EXCERPT HERE >>> Breath Like Water | Prologue


24/7 Support That’s Here For You

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/
Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255)

The Trevor Project
https://www.thetrevorproject.org/
1-866-488-7386
TrevorChat available
Text START to 678678

Crisis Text Line
www.crisistextline.org
Text HOME to 741741

National Alliance On Mental Illness
https://nami.org/Home

To Write Love On Her Arms
https://twloha.com/

Categories
About Books

It’s Friday! What Are You Reading This Weekend?

Happy Friday, Bookworms!

What are you reading this weekend?

Yesterday I finished Dark Skies by Danielle L. Jensen (ARC) and….it was THE BEST! I was crying at the end because it was so heartbreaking-ly good! Review coming Tuesday!

Dark Skies is book 2 of its series. If you haven’t read Dark Shores (book 1) yet, I highly recommend it because it’s just as amazing as its sequel. Dark Skies will be released on (SUPER TUESDAY!!!) May 5, 2020.

As I wrote in my last post, I am currently reading The Bookworm Crush by Lisa Brown Riberts and Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab (ARC/Blog Tour). I’m looking forward to reading both books over the weekend!

I chose these two books as my next read because I was in need of a break in what I’d been reading for something more lighthearted. In times like these when I read a series of heavy stories (no matter if they were good or bad), I often turn romance reads to pick me back up again. The Bookworm Crush was one such contemporary romance I needed.

I know I said I wasn’t going to do another blog tour for a while but Breath Like Water sounded too good to pass up! It too is a contemporary romance. I’ll have a nice, relaxing week feeling the feels and gushing over adorable moments.

Have a great weekend, Bookworms!

 

 

Stay safe. Stay home. Save Lives.